Free Your Mane Shampoo and Conditioner Review

In my Glymm box, I received a sample of Free Your Mane sulfate hydrating shampoo and daily detangling conditioner. Below is my review of the pros and cons based on a one time use.

Shampoo

Pros

Smells Good: I really like the smell of this shampoo. It’s sweet yet mild. The aroma made washing my hair that much more enjoyable. I honestly didn’t want to wash it out. ‘

Great lather: The lather of this shampoo is rich, even with a small amount.

No parabens: The biggest pro for this shampoo is the fact that it is paraben free. This lets me confidently use it without worrying about what it is doing to my hair and health in the long run.

Left Hair Feeling Soft: Usually when I use shampoos, my hair feels really dry. But this hydrating shampoo really does hydrate. My hair felt clean without feeling like it had been stripped clean. My hair also felt soft after using it.

Cons

Price: This product sells for $16 on free your mane’s website. That doesn’t work with my student budget.

Conditioner

Pros

Scent: The conditioner has the same great scent as the shampoo

Detangles, somewhat: While this product didn’t completely detangle my hair, it did do a fair enough job of it. Granted I do have very thick hair.

Shines hair: One of the things I noticed was how shiny my hair was. The conditioner lives up to the claim of giving your hair a brilliant shine.

Cons:

Price: The conditioner is the same price as the shampoo, $16, which for their 10.14oz (300ml) bottle doesn’t seem like a budget friendly price.

Overall: I like free your mane’s shampoo and conditioner. They smell great, and give you healthy looking hair without using harsh chemicals. If the price were lower, I’d give it a five-star rating.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Free Your Mane Shampoo and Conditioner Review

  1. daniejean20 says:

    Just found your blog and really diggin it! I’ve always wondered why companies charge so much for something that you end up just washing most of it down the drain… $16 seems like so much money to spend on shampoo and conditioner! It’s definitely not budget friendly for my “i’m a new mom and can’t afford to buy things for myself anymore” budget!!

    • Thanks for visiting my blog and reading my review. I don’t understand it either. No matter how nice the shampoo makes my hair, I think it should still be reasonably priced.

  2. Thank you so much for reviewing my product!

    I just wanted to let you know that as the father of two young kids (who need braces, etc!) and a new entrepreneur I am always concerned about price.

    When I was creating Free Your Mane I did my best to keep it affordable. Certain factors do drive the price up: using the purest oils that are procured using fair trade practice, substituting harmful chemicals with more expensive healthy ones and lastly not using tons of water as filler. We use the least amount of water possible– everyone who has used Free Your Mane has noticed that its very concentrated and a little goes a long way.

    Having said that, as our company grows we will be able to produce in larger volume which will also help bring the price down.

    Best Regards,
    Israel Segal
    Founder, Free Your Mane

Leave a Reply

